How old is your XP computer?

Discussion in 'Windows XP General Discussion' started by towgers, Jun 5, 2016.

  1. towgers

    Frano35

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Striped windows XP on MSI7519 p43,core2duo e8500 @stock,4gb ddr2,radeon saphire 6670 1gb gddr5 and hdd 80gb,gona buy ssd soon, and it flys because after bootiing uses ~280mb of ram + disabled all visuals
     
    Frano35, Oct 1, 2016
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. towgers

    sea salt

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all

    Just formatted and a fresh install and patch to SP3. Compaq Presario R3000. Intel Pentium 4, 3.0GHz
     
    sea salt, Oct 2, 2016
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. towgers

    Frano35

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    And howbit works frend?
     
    Frano35, Oct 2, 2016
    #23
  4. towgers

    sea salt

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works well but not sure what to do with it anymore. Windows XP Pro running on it.
     
    sea salt, Oct 2, 2016
    #24
  5. towgers

    realitydroid

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you are a gamer, Windows XP works well with some slightly older games. Especially when running a single core processor for games such as Silent Hill 2, which don't support or even function well on multi core processors without a little trickery.

    I also use mine as a light web browsing machine, since it's easy to get to when my laptop is in the car and I'm too lazy to get it.
     
    realitydroid, Oct 4, 2016
    #25
  6. towgers

    Joe511

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Letchworth, England
    Samsung NP-Q35, 160gb Hard drive, 2.50gb of RAM and mad in 2001. My dad bought it brand new and gave it to me a few months ago. The high specs is because my dad likes to put the newest windows on any pc (he managed to get upto 8.1) then he gave it to me. I reinstalled XP and use it to this day
     
    Joe511, Nov 15, 2016
    #26
  7. towgers

    tienkhoanguyen

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have Microsoft Windows Vista 32bit English.

    I have a second hand MacBook Pro 2009. I just installed Microsoft Windows Vista 32bit English on there. I have Microsoft Windows XP Home SP2 in VirtualBox 32bit. As I grow older I see friends are more important than the fancy things. It's fine. I'm happy. However life's not always giving you what you want! haha Oh well.
     
    tienkhoanguyen, Nov 16, 2016
    #27
  8. towgers

    Joe511

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Letchworth, England
    2001 SamSung NP-Q35 Laptop, still running fine. SPecs: Intel Core 2 T7200 @ 2.00 GHz, 2.50 GB of RAM. I don't know what type the RAM is. 160GB Hard Drive. Windows XP Pro SP3 x32. Not all updates (yet).
     
    Joe511, Dec 13, 2016
    #28
  9. towgers

    YanKleber

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I won't mention the make of mine because you won't know this. It is a 2007 notebook with a Core Duo Celeron, 2.5GB RAM and 80 GB HDD. :)
     
    YanKleber, Dec 14, 2016
    #29
  10. towgers

    Connor McMahon

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    I recently bought a Toshiba Satellite A35-S159 thats in good condition. It's a 2004 i believe. I bought 2 gigs of ram for it and bought a 3.2ghz Pentium 4 to replace the 2.3ghz Pentium 4 that came with it. Should be getting the cpu in the mail any minute now.
     
    Connor McMahon, Sep 27, 2019
    #30
  11. towgers

    Looping79

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dell XPS 13 which is 2 years old
     
    Looping79, Oct 2, 2019
    #31
  12. towgers

    Compaq_8200_Elite

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    7
    2011 or so HP Compaq 8200 Elite CMD Intel I7-2600 8gb ram Dual boot XP64-XP32
    Main OS is XP64 with no antivirus, no firewaLL except the XP firewall and no problems.
    Drivers were downloaded from HP.
     
    Compaq_8200_Elite, Oct 14, 2019
    #32
  13. towgers

    SandwichSlayer

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have Windows XP Media Center Edition on a Dell, circa 2005, but I primarily use my Dell Inspiron laptop running Windows 10
     
    SandwichSlayer, Oct 14, 2019
    #33
  14. towgers

    SmilinDoug

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Adirondacks of New York
    I built my desktop in 2002 when I worked in South Korea. I was playing this one game called Unreal Tournament GOTY 1999, and I'd see all these guys going to LAN parties in different forums. So I figured I'd make a LAN party desktop with the U.T. theme.

    I started out with a plain old off white (small) tower. On the left side I cut out a windows and put a frosted U on the window. I bought a pair of handles on the internet and installed them on top. Then, after I found a case fan that lit up, I used a Dremel tool and some files and cut out a U in the bottom front of the tower. With the fan mounted behind it, it really lights up nice. Then I called my Mom back in the States, and asked if I could have the antique bottle opener, that was mounted on the work bench in the shop at my parents summer home. When I got that I mounted that on the right side of the case with a couple of rivets. The case didn't have any USB ports in the front, so I got a dual port USB thing that goes in the back. Took it a part and mounted them on a blank floppy drive cover, and put it in the front. I did have an ash tray mounted on the top of the case but I took that off and just put a cover there now. The last thing I did was take it all back apart and custom painted the whole thing, then put it back together.

    The laptop I got from a friend in 2006 right before we left Japan and moved back to the States. It's a Compaq Presario 1255 and I think it was made in 1997 or maybe 1998. It originally had Windows 95, ran at 266MHz and didn't even have 100MB's of ram. I installed a 400MHz CPU, added 512MB's of ram and installed a 40gig hard drive. The details of both are in my signature.
     
    SmilinDoug, Oct 15, 2019
    #34
  15. towgers

    Sixthofmay

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida, USA
    My main XP box I built in 2009 to be able to play HD-DVD and Bluray discs. The previous XP box didn't have enough CPU (dual Xeon P4 era CPUs). The newer box has a Supermicro MB and Core2Quad 2.4 GHz 8GB RAM and easily plays H264 1080p content. Even handles VC1 which is single threaded with MPC-HC + FFDShow. I have a 3GHz Core2Quad CPU on the shelf, but unless I feel the need for more speed, it'll stay on the shelf. The computer is fully loaded (all slots in use) and changing the CPU would be a big risk with all the disassembly required.

    3 SSDs make up the fast storage and boot drive, and bulk local storage is handled by a 3Ware 9650SE-16ML, hooked to 12 spinning 2TB drives to make 6 2TB RAID1 arrays. All but 2 drives are the tiny drives inside Seagate's 2TB 2.5" external USB. At only $65 each, violating the warranty shucking the cases is only a minor concern. They run at 4200 RPM and use very little power. They'll do 120MB/sec for sequential RW but suck for random RW. I have 2 3.5" Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB drives that are around 10 times faster for random RW (reading/writing 20 HDTV programs at the same time with VideoRedo). I could use the SSDs but I'd kill them with their limited writes.

    The 5GB pagefile.sys I have on a 5GB Superspeed RAMDisk using RAM XP32 cannot see, so no paging delays ever.

    I have 3 monitors- one is a 144Hz 24" Benq gaming monitor running in strobe mode (looks just like a CRT with lifelike video), and a Dell 19" 4:3 CRT on the Benq's left and right sides. I'm not a gamer, so I don't have my graphics cards memorized (low 3D scores I'm sure, but I don't care).

    I have spares for most components. The Barracuda XT drives have been a minor issue- both original drives have failed and been replaced (3Ware makes this easy, just replace and power it on). I have 6 good used XT spares from eBay on the shelf, each with around 10000 hours and cost about 1/10th what they were when new. I use HDSentinel to monitor and test drives.

    Hopefully it runs a few more years.
     
    Sixthofmay, Oct 22, 2019
    #35
    Connor McMahon likes this.
  16. towgers

    trimis

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    117
    I have had my used Dell OptiPlex 755 at least two or three years now. No telling how long some business had it before they sold it off on Ebay. Best as I can determine the model came out in 2008! Built like a tank! Cost about $129 off Ebay. Add in $50 for DVD burner, $70 for 8GM RAM, $40 for mobile-rack, $50 for virus check, $50 for computer shop to put it all together, $50 for MikroTik router, $50 VDSL, and $100 for computer tech housecall to set everything up at home. Best $590 i ever spent! Let me kick Comcast to the curb, and ditch AT&T. That was like $110 a month, instead of the $50 a month I now spend!
     
    trimis, Nov 25, 2019
    #36
  17. towgers

    Katie Boundary

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    12
    Assembled about 2 or 3 years ago.
     
    Katie Boundary, Nov 25, 2019
    #37
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.