How Do I Increase Net Speed?

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by koolx, Sep 27, 2014.

  1. koolx

    koolx

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got XP SP3. I ran a speed test on my laptop. Sadly, it gave a result of 4 Mpbs. My service provider said it should be 26 Mbps. What do I do to increase it to that threshold?
     
    koolx, Sep 27, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. koolx

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,291
    Likes Received:
    474
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Sep 27, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. koolx

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,291
    Likes Received:
    474
    Location:
    Florida
    ALSO: When I contacted my ISP provider they said I am only paying for 1Mbps download and 1/4 Mbps upload, my speed test ran 138 ms for ping, 4.36 Mbps for download, and .87 Mbps for upload. So I seem to be doing better, cannot tell if this is fast or slow as I only have the one pc so no comparison possible, I have read that 4mbps is slow, but it appears fast enough for me. :)

    ==
     
    Elizabeth23, Sep 27, 2014
    #3
  4. koolx

    Jojo

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can say what it's like in the States, but here, not all ISPs are equal. Things are getting better, but if its available, the best is Virgin Cable.

    There is one ISP, for example, from SKY, which is an international Media Company and they are often particularly bad. There is nothing much you can do with these second rate providers, sadly. Tweaking will improve things slightly, but the only way to get the sort of results Elizabeth gets and I do as well for that matter, is with Virgin Cable.

    If I may, I can add a few suggestion to those on the link. Turn off all automatic updates. Turn off all reporting, Firefox for example will report back but you can ask it not to. Others won't ask, so get a decent browser. Run your virus checker manually, rather than having it continually scan. Some might disagree with that, but I've done it many times, provided you don't look at porn or other dodgy sites it's generally OK. Antivirus takes up a lot of bandwidth. You absolutely must run a scan regularly though.
     
    Jojo, Sep 27, 2014
    #4
  5. koolx

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,291
    Likes Received:
    474
    Location:
    Florida
    @ Jojo, out here in the part of Florida I live in, there is only Fairpoint communications, I have my phone bundled with their internet service, and I do not want to go to satellite because if it is anything like Dish satellite tv, it goes out at the least puff of wind or any cloud in the sky. And there is no cable in our section of town. I will just have to live with it. :)

    ==
     
    Elizabeth23, Sep 28, 2014
    #5
  6. koolx

    Jojo

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    1
    Really sorry to hear that Elizabeth.

    Looking again, I can see I misread your details, mine are much higher.

    I suppose I don't realise how fortunate I am really!!

    I recall, back in the late 80s, an early internet, connected to the telephone, used 1200/90 baud. Needless to say, there wasn't much available, mostly universities and such and they tended to keep most pages private.

    One in particular, which connected several universities in London was called The Gnome At Home. The graphics were basic block, so no fancy pictures. They had a 'Main Page' where you could join in some conversations on topical issues. But it was horrendously slow.

    Anyway, a few ideas to be getting on with. Yours are naturally good, mine might be a little more drastic, though I can say, I've done all of them in the past, with few problems.

    The most important, apart from Elizabeth's is to turn off automatic updates and remember to do updating yourself. Use a decent browser, which doesn't feedback information or run scans on every single page. Get a decent ad blocker, Flash Block if you have Firefox.
     
    Jojo, Sep 28, 2014
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.