How can I find the Administrator account after name change

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by Janice, Jan 8, 2021.

  1. Janice

    Janice

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Canada
    I created an Administrator account in addition to the one created by the OS during installation. For some reason that I cannot remember, I changed the names of both these accounts, the one created by XP and the one created by me. I have forgotten which one is which. How can I find out which admin account was created by the OS during installation?
     
    Janice, Jan 8, 2021
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Janice

    secpar

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    69
    Try running Lusrmgr.msc

    %windir%\system32\Lusrmgr.msc

    OR

    Try running "control.exe userpasswords2"

    %windir%\system32\control.exe userpasswords2
     
    secpar, Jan 8, 2021
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Janice

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,648
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Florida
    go to safe mode, whichever account is listed first that is the real admin account
     
    Elizabeth23, Jan 8, 2021
    #3
  4. Janice

    Janice

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you. That showed it all right. I had created 2 other accounts and the real Administrator account was not visible. I mistakenly thought that one of the two I created was the real Admin account. In safe mode all 3 were there with 'Administrator' at the top of the list.

    While using the computer from another account, if I need to login as Administrator, what is the shortest (best?) way to do it? Is it possible to do this without disrupting the programs that are already open?
     
    Janice, Jan 9, 2021
    #4
  5. Janice

    Janice

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Canada
    Hello secpar,

    I am not sure of what you say in your post above. Do you want me to run these strings in a command window? If I do that what is supposed to happen?
     
    Janice, Jan 9, 2021
    #5
  6. Janice

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,648
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Florida
    you should be able to get to the admin account if you logoff, or switch users, since I only use admin account in safe mode I cannot tell you if this is a fact, :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Jan 9, 2021
    #6
    Janice likes this.
  7. Janice

    Janice

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Canada
    You must be doing this for an important reason. Can you tell me what it is?
     
    Janice, Jan 9, 2021
    #7
  8. Janice

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,648
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Florida
    the built in admin account is a failsafe, if something goes wrong with your other accounts you can always go to the admin account to attempt a correction, that is if you have not done anything to change the account. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Jan 10, 2021
    #8
  9. Janice

    Janice

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Canada
    Do you mean getting locked out of an other account or is there more to it?
     
    Janice, Jan 10, 2021
    #9
  10. Janice

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,648
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Florida
    I have never been locked out of an account so I cannot say for sure, mostly so you can fix corrupted accounts, I once forgot a password but corrected the issue with Hiren's Boot cd
     
    Elizabeth23, Jan 10, 2021
    #10
    Janice likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.