h.264 in XP Pro?

Discussion in 'Windows XP Customization' started by trimis, Nov 20, 2017.

  1. trimis

    trimis

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
    While researching browsers that support h.264 video, I found that there appears to also be lack of support in XP itself. This lead me to expand my Google searches, and I found this:
    http://wp.xin/at/archives/4059
    Its out of my league, but maybe someone here can grasp it, and let me know if it seems plausible? If so, I'll have my techie guy tackle it on his next housecall.
     
    trimis, Nov 20, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. trimis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Florida
    got a server not found error from the link :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Nov 20, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. trimis

    trimis

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
    If at first you don't succeed:

    http://wp.xin.at/archives/4059

    Yeah, I see the problem...I was sleepy! Sorry! Try that link.
     
    trimis, Nov 21, 2017
    #3
  4. trimis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Florida
    primetime content decryption module provided by adobe systems, incorporated will be installed shortly.

    well I did all of the items instructed in your link but even though I clicked on "check for updates" and restarted firefox several times the above does not go away.

    I will check tomorrow as we are experiencing problems with our ISP is this area, I have just now been able to get online since early sunday. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Nov 21, 2017
    #4
    trimis likes this.
  5. trimis

    trimis

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'd be very interested to know if those instructions actually succeed. If so, I'll have my tech guy work on it as top priority. Flash (or is it Shockwave?) only works on my PC maybe 75% of the time...I get some sort of error of something not found (think its some dll). Anyway I'm definitely wanting to get h.264 into a browser if at all possible.
     
    trimis, Nov 21, 2017
    #5
  6. trimis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Florida
    Modify media.gmp-manager.url : change %VERSION% to 51.0

    got this hint from firefox support HERE, about:config , after changing the above the message saying it would be installed shortly went away and now my about: plugins page looks like the image in your link. :)

    I went to THIS test page and it played all, so I guess I can get html5 now.
     
    Elizabeth23, Nov 21, 2017
    #6
    trimis likes this.
  7. trimis

    trimis

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
    Great news! Been all over the internet looking for a solution. Had someone on another forum telling me to forget it, cause XP was too decrepit to handle h.264. Now I can go tell him to eat...his words. And I'll have to try and thank the guy at wp.xin for the hack. Thanks for keeping at it. If you had left it where it was at post #4, I would of marked it a deadend.
     
    trimis, Nov 24, 2017
    #7
  8. trimis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Florida
    you are welcome, :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Nov 24, 2017
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.