Guide to enable windows XP to use more than 3.25GB ram

Discussion in 'Windows XP Customization' started by yummy90, Jun 29, 2015.

  1. yummy90

    yummy90

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know who to give credits to but the earliest this was found was from a chinese tech forum
    http://bbs.pediy.com/showthread.php?t=137830

    Note:
    You need not apply this tweak if you are using windows XP SP1 OR you only have 3gb ram to begin with

    This fix should work on Windows XP SP3, I have no idea if it works the same on Windows XP SP2

    What does it do?
    Basically this tweak is to enable more RAM to function as if it is 64 bit for 32 bit windows XP

    The Benefits?
    1. More reason to disable paging file
    2. Be able to multitask more
    3. Use that wasted ram

    Download Link:
    http://www.mediafire.com/download/i7nhh6hj8af63ui/Gamersky-WindowsXP_64G_RAM.7z

    Source:http://www.gamersky.com/handbook/201503/549958.shtml
    (in all honesty the fix doesn't help running the game at all)

    1. Make sure you disable ramdisk or any similar software
    (I have zero knowledge about ramdisk and methods to keep this but you can free up some disk space by disabling paging file instead)

    2. Copy ntkl64g.exe, hal64g.dll to C:/windows/system32/

    3. Go to control panel, system, advanced, under startup and recovery click setting

    4. Edit the boot.ini file from there, save it as boot.txt anywhere before you edit it as a backup
    (The default location of boot.ini file is in C:\ but you won't be able to see it)

    5. Method 1 will give you the option to apply when you boot into windows and
    Method 2 will just apply the fix when you boot into windows

    Method 1
    [operating system]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /noexecute=optin

    (Here you need to change /noexecute=alwaysoff to /noexecute=optin)

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP 64G" /kernel=ntkl64g.exe /hal=hal64g.dll /fastdetect /PAE /noexecute=optin

    (everything is the same as above with /kernel=ntkl64g.exe /hal=hal64g.dll added)

    Method 2
    Add /kernel=ntkl64g.exe /hal=hal64g.dll into the line, like this

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /kernel=ntkl64g.exe /hal=hal64g.dll /fastdetect /PAE /noexecute=alwaysoff

    I have been using this for weeks without issues, and if you want to disable it you can just remove /kernel=ntkl64g.exe /hal=hal64g.dll from the boot.ini file, like this

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /PAE /noexecute=alwaysoff


    OR you can just open up that boot.txt I told you about earlier and change it to boot.ini and replace

    Please point out if I am missing out on anything
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2015
    yummy90, Jun 29, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. yummy90

    aHumanError

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably easier to just install XP x64 lol.
     
    aHumanError, May 19, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. yummy90

    Jody Thornton

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Richmond Hill, Ontario
    Hear Here!
    :)
     
    Jody Thornton, May 19, 2016
    #3
  4. yummy90

    Jody Thornton

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Richmond Hill, Ontario
    Also the PAE hack is great as long as you're addressing under 4 GB (so between 3.5 and 4 GB.) But I find a huge performance hit once you surpass the 4 GB boundary.
     
    Jody Thornton, May 19, 2016
    #4
  5. yummy90

    Dibya

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Oshaka,Japan
    I am working on a patch for XP which can Adress 128Gb Ram
    Nothing Wrong with PAE . I use my own patch and day to day running XP with 16GB DDR4 Ram under intel core i7 6700k
     
    Dibya, Jun 3, 2016
    #5
  6. yummy90

    eatup

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't trust 3rd party files. Is there a method to enable >4GB RAM using files from the (untouched) XP 64-bit ISO?
     
    eatup, Jun 6, 2016
    #6
  7. yummy90

    yummy90

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    All the exe and dll files were from xp 64bit, I have no idea what you are talking about
     
    yummy90, Jun 19, 2016
    #7
  8. yummy90

    Touko White

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Margate
    I think he's referring to Dibya but not sure.
     
    Touko White, Jun 19, 2016
    #8
  9. yummy90

    eatup

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    1
    If the files indeed came from xp 64 bit, then i'll give it a try using the untouched files as I do have the 64-bit ISO...
     
    eatup, Jun 19, 2016
    #9
  10. yummy90

    goldie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    past
    Could someone with access to 64-bit XP files verify the files in that download?
     
    goldie, Sep 7, 2016
    #10
  11. yummy90

    goldie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    past
    What I mean is to run checksums on both of them - MD5, CRC or whatever - to validate authenticity, and to avoid malware, rootkits etc.
     
    goldie, Sep 7, 2016
    #11
  12. yummy90

    Sixthofmay

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida, USA
    I've never had any luck disabling the paging file on any Windows version. One is always created somewhere. I just put the pagefile.sys on a fast dedicated disk.

    If I have a VMS bottleneck, I first try putting the pagefile.sys (fixed size) on a dedicated SSD. If that doesn't provide enough speed, I put the pagefile.sys on a RAMDisk. THAT ALWAYS FIXES any page fault slowdowns by forcing XP32 to keep data in RAM, no matter the age of the vm page.

    Ideally your RAMDisk should use unmanaged RAM not visible to the OS- like Superspeed RAMDisk can do on a PC with 8GB RAM. Windows 2000 also has huge improvements under certain use conditions even with using RAM visible to the OS (haven't tried this under XP as my boxes with the tweak have 8GB of RAM). With this tweak and a 5GB RAMDisk and pagefile, you can have a commit charge up to 5GB and zero paging delays.
     
    Sixthofmay, Jan 13, 2018
    #12
  13. yummy90

    Skeleton11223

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    US, Florida
    Thank you! Just boosted my 2.98GB RAM to 3.85GB.
     
    Skeleton11223, Apr 6, 2018
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.