Found a Motherboard, , , ,

Discussion in 'Windows XP Hardware' started by cornemuse, Feb 17, 2020.

  1. cornemuse

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    139
    I obtained a motherboard in a generic case, with no HDD. (no os). Its been around, has 2 ide slots. What I like is it has 6 sata ports & hdmi out. No name anywhere on the board. well, it says 'bengal', has a paper sticker with = "04cv91806907pc rs780m03a1-8ekrs2hm" on it. Search comes up with Acer, but no info there. Also got return for 'foxconn'. I sure would like to find out if XP could be installed on it. Has AMD Athlon cpu & 4 gigs ram onboard. But 6 satas & hdmi! An install disk or all necessary drivers would just make my day!

    -c-

    04cv91806907pc rs780m03a1-8ekrs2hm
     
    cornemuse, Feb 17, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cornemuse

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    139
    I think I have found drivers on a laptop drivers page, go figure.
     
    cornemuse, Feb 17, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. cornemuse

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,349
    Likes Received:
    487
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Feb 17, 2020
    #3
  4. cornemuse

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    139
    Liz, yes there, , , ,
    All were listed (download source) USA & Europe, one, USA link = dead, thank you bILL gATES
     
    cornemuse, Feb 18, 2020
    #4
  5. cornemuse

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    139
    Well, I finally started playing with this mobo, got it up & running, installed XP-32 pro. Managed to install all the drivers EXCEPT the video. Even gone on line with it, one time (+ 360 tot sec). I'm just having fits with the video drivers! it has

    "ATI Radeon HD 3200"

    graphics on board. The (europian above) SW, when I tried to install, didnt. Said I needed some ATI installer (not this comp, saved stuff on the comp in Q), tried the SW in Q, Then sw installed, but actually did not(?). Now need CCC, amd's cataylist control center, fine. (all my comps have amd vid, & have CCC), I (tried to) install this, but as before, went through the amd install screens but didnt install.
    mobo is:

    Acer RS780M03A1

    I have tried several HD 3200 supposed driver packages, but no go.

    I am at a loss, , , ,

    -c-
     
    cornemuse, Feb 29, 2020
    #5
  6. cornemuse

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,349
    Likes Received:
    487
    Location:
    Florida
    do you remember which drivers you have tried or which sites so that I do not duplicate your search, ?
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 1, 2020
    #6
  7. cornemuse

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    139
    Liz,
    Besides (your post #3)
    I ventured here:

    https://driverscollection.com/?H=Radeon HD 3200

    https://www.amd.com/en/support

    https://www.pcmatic.com/company/libraries/driver/detail.asp?driver=ATI~Radeon~HD~3200~Gr

    https://www.amd-drivers.com/download-RadeonHD3200-mobility-driver-for-WindowsVista-32

    https://www.amd-drivers.com/download-RadeonHD3200-mobility-driver-for-WindowsXP-32

    https://driverscollection.com/?H=Radeon HD 3200&SS=Windows XP

    https://www.driverguide.com/driver/company/ATI/index.html

    https://support.hp.com/us-en/

    Surprisingly, at (#3){ http://www.findlaptopdriver.com/specs-rs780m03a1-8ekrs2hm-foxconn/ }, I eventually found in a text doc with enough info to bypass Acer's anal exam to finally get the proper (2, first one worked) ATI drivers, installed them, works like a charm!! Copied that FFPortable folder from this comp to the one in Q, !st bookmark click, &, theres my login screen, no setting up anything. name, p/w ********, there it is, login! Plus all my addons one cannot get anymore. (<- why I rant about FF portable!)

    A lot of sites NOT listed, Czeck language site, other foreign sites, suspect in my eyes, , , , ,

    -c-
     
    cornemuse, Mar 3, 2020
    #7
  8. cornemuse

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,349
    Likes Received:
    487
    Location:
    Florida
    so you did get your video driver then, ? :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 3, 2020
    #8
  9. cornemuse

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    139
    Yes
     
    cornemuse, Mar 4, 2020
    #9
  10. cornemuse

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,349
    Likes Received:
    487
    Location:
    Florida
    great, :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Mar 4, 2020
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.