First Foray into Digital Projectors for the PC

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Forum' started by Hunter2021, May 25, 2023.

1. Hunter2021

Hunter2021

I read this review on Notebookcheck which said mostly good things about the cheap and portable projector HY-300:

https://www.notebookcheck.net/HY300-cheaper-portable-projector-now-available-globally.707993.0.html

[​IMG]

Also was amazed by this video showing in action the auto keystone correction feature of the projector:

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/vqJ8Oi0JCXw

Also read good reviews by verified purchasers on Aliexpress.

Also liked that it doesn't need a tripod to adjust the tilt angle.

So, I am giving the projector a try and will let you all know how it goes. It's my first projector so want to start with 720p to figure out the quirks of projector vs computer monitor. Then will get more expensive 1080p+ projectors with better quality later...

Attached Files:

Hunter2021, May 25, 2023
  2. Hunter2021

Hunter2021

It wasn't too long ago, if you wanted a budget projector you had to put up with the really crappy resolution of 320x200 (same as the old school VGA games). Then all of a sudden technology makes a quantum leap to 720p for the budget segment...

Anyways, my projector is on it's way from China, I ordered it last week...

here are some actual images I pulled from Aliexpress buyer reviews -- the pictures look actually impressive for el cheapo LCD projector:

Review1.jpg Review2.jpg Review3.jpg Review4.jpg Review5.jpg

My ONLY concern the projector might not be able to handle 4:3 aspect ratio properly. Most of my nostalgia DOS/WinXP-based games are in the 4:3 format!

Hunter2021, May 29, 2023
  3. Hunter2021

Hunter2021

Very nice for sub USD $100 projector:

Review10.jpg Review11.jpg Review12.jpg Review13.jpg Review14.jpg

Hunter2021, May 31, 2023
  4. Hunter2021

MisterEd

With a brightness of only 120 lumens you are going to have a dark room with the room lights turned off.