external backup gone wrong

Discussion in 'Windows XP Installation and Setup' started by beverly, May 17, 2018 at 6:47 PM.

  1. beverly

    beverly

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was doing a external backup and everything started disappearing from the computer. can this be fixed.
     
    beverly, May 17, 2018 at 6:47 PM
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. beverly

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,067
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Florida
    not sure what you mean about disappearing, are you sure you did not MOVE files instead of COPY?
     
    Elizabeth23, May 17, 2018 at 11:30 PM
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. beverly

    beverly

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    By disappearing I mean I had no start button , I couldn't do anything all functions were gone. so I just shut it off. But during the process I was told that the files will be replaced and I may have clicked onto yes instead of no, and proceeded with the backup.
     
    beverly, May 18, 2018 at 2:06 PM
    #3
  4. beverly

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,067
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Florida
    when the desktop does not appear, then press crtl+alt+del together to bring up task manager, then in file/new/ type in explorer.exe and your desktop will come back. Sometimes depending on what is going on in the background the desktop will be slow to appear, so I have to see what is running and cancel it.

    you need to run chkdsk with the /r parameter either from the recovery console or from the command prompt, you should do this whenever there has been an ungraceful shutdown.
     
    Elizabeth23, May 18, 2018 at 6:45 PM
    #4
  5. beverly

    beverly

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem solved thanks for your help elizabeth23. I have another question for u. I tried to download a program to do the backup and i got a message that said seagate toolkit.exe in not a valid Win32 application. How can i fix this.
     
    beverly, May 20, 2018 at 4:49 PM
    #5
  6. beverly

    j896

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think when yo get .exe in not a valid Win32 application that means it dont work with XP. Elizabeth23 would know better then me..
     
    j896, May 20, 2018 at 5:52 PM
    #6
  7. beverly

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,067
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, May 20, 2018 at 6:46 PM
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.