Duplicate Control Panel entries

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by machinist60, Feb 16, 2016.

  1. machinist60

    machinist60

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    My xp machine has two identical 'Network Connection' entries in the Control Panel. They both appear to be looking at the same settings.
    I don't remember this being usual, how do I remove one of these?
    Thanks, John.
     
    machinist60, Feb 16, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. machinist60

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,949
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Feb 16, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. machinist60

    machinist60

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I have read through above. I don't find any duplicate .cpl files.
    One entry points to netshell.dll and the other to ncpa.dll. My limited understanding is that these both permit modification of network properties by different methods.
     
    machinist60, Feb 17, 2016
    #3
  4. machinist60

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,949
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Feb 17, 2016
    #4
  5. machinist60

    machinist60

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Elizabeth23 for finding that thread. With its help one "Network Connection" entry is ncpa.dll enabling "Configure Network Software" and the other is netshell.dll enabling "Connects to Other Computers, Network and the Internet". The thread Posted 24 June 2010 - 05:12 AM by jmatt in http://www.theeldergeek.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=11014 shows how to edit the registry for this problem. My xp sp3 OS had no "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\don't load" so it was created and "ncpa.cpl REG_SZ No" placed in it. A reboot and duplicate entry is gone and all seems well. If I ever have to configure network software, which is not likely, I assume there is some other way of running ncpa.dll from the user interface.
    Many thanks for your help. John.
     
    machinist60, Feb 17, 2016
    #5
  6. machinist60

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,949
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Florida
    glad to have helped.

    make sure to run some scans on your pc to ensure that the issue was not caused by a virus. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Feb 17, 2016
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.