Detect Samsung Galaxy S5 phone on Win XP?

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by we3fan, Apr 26, 2020.

  1. we3fan

    we3fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys :), I want to ask you for an advice about my Samsung Galaxy S5 phone.

    I have a Win 7 PC and it detects my phone automatically when I connect it with the cable.

    I also have an old Win XP PC with no internet connection that I use only for some old games, my XP PC can't detect my phone automatically when I connect it with the cable, it probably doesn't have the drivers needed.
    I tried:
    SAMSUNG USB Driver for Mobile Phones
    SAMSUNG Android USB Device Driver
    MTP Porting Kit
    SAMSUNG Mobile MTP Device Driver
    SAMSUNG Android ADB Interface Driver
    - but nothing worked.

    From my limited tests the only way my XP PC to detect my phone is to install Windows Media Player 11, maybe there is some other better or more simple method but I don't know about it yet.
    I like the default Windows Media Player 9 and I don't like Windows Media Player 11, so I was wondering if there is some way to use or register the Windows Media Player 11 files and drivers without actually installing Windows Media Player 11, and hoping that it would detect my phone.

    Is there some way my XP PC to detect my Galaxy S5 phone without installing Windows Media Player 11?

    Thanks for your time.
     
    we3fan, Apr 26, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. we3fan

    ClippyBeer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    At the pub
    ClippyBeer, Apr 28, 2020
    #2
    we3fan likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. we3fan

    we3fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi ClippyBeer, thanks for replying, I already tried this but it doesn't work, I will have to find another method.
     
    we3fan, Apr 28, 2020
    #3
  4. we3fan

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,293
    Likes Received:
    474
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Apr 28, 2020
    #4
    we3fan likes this.
  5. we3fan

    we3fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Elizabeth23, I really appreciate it.

    I found KiesSetup.exe (68.7 MB, File version: 2.6.4.17113), Kies3Setup.exe (35.4 MB, File version: 16.0.0.400), and a separate install file for ActiveSync 4.5 with name: setup.msi (7.52 MB).

    Do you think I should install 1 of the bigger files: KiesSetup.exe (68.7 MB) or Kies3Setup.exe (35.4 MB)?
    Or it could also work with only installing the small ActiveSync 4.5 file setup.msi (7.52 MB)?
     
    we3fan, Apr 28, 2020
    #5
  6. we3fan

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,293
    Likes Received:
    474
    Location:
    Florida
    For Windows Mobile 6 devices, use ActiveSync 4.5(Windows XP)

    at the first link in my previous reply, scroll to required software, media 10 or above are required and the one for windows is 68.7 mb, you can try with only the smart switch, but that requires media 11 and above, so you might as well install media 11 , do not believe you can have both 9 and 11 installed seperately
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 29, 2020
    #6
    we3fan likes this.
  7. we3fan

    ClippyBeer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    At the pub
    Try to install the larger Kies setup - Kies is an ITunes-like program for managing Samsung Phones and it will also install the correct drivers. ActiveSync is for Windows Mobile devices and won't work with your S5.
     
    ClippyBeer, Apr 29, 2020
    #7
    we3fan likes this.
  8. we3fan

    we3fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks again guys, I will see what I can do.
     
    we3fan, Apr 30, 2020
    #8
    Elizabeth23 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.