Dell help please

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Forum' started by priscus, Jun 15, 2019.

1. priscus

priscus

My neighbour has never had/used a computer, and has expressed a desire to participate in on-line shopping.

He is a good neighbour, not very well off, so would like to buy a cheap second-hand machine to get him started.

He lives in a tiny apartment. Such little space, it is going to have to be a laptop.

I assemble my own desktop machines, but when it comes to laptops, my experience is limited to Fujitsu, and Lenovo. The latter, in particular because I can delve into their innards and swap stuff in/out with confidence.

His needs are different. I have seen advert for a Dell Latitude on eBay:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CHEAP-La...SSD-Win-10-HDMI/183822607579?var=691457909622

I have no experience with Dell, As they had in past, a reputation for proprietary hardware, I tended to avoid, as a self-builder. (Though that is probably universally applicable when it comes to laptops)

However, I have observed they feature a lot on our threads, so have any of you any advice/warnings/caveats for someone ignorant of the brand, before I go ahead and purchase.

priscus, Jun 15, 2019
  2. priscus

Elizabeth23

cannot say for others but I have had this dell desktop since 2005 or 2003 can't really remember.

Have a dell laptop with win10 at the shop, was getting hot as it is on 24/7 so I bought one of those fan units that sit under the entire laptop, has 5 fans and works great to keep the laptop cool, :), I , myself prefer Dell, but that could be just because I have never had anything else, :)

Elizabeth23, Jun 16, 2019
    priscus likes this.
  3. priscus

cornemuse

If your friend has never had or used a computer, get any used laptop & install 'Mint Mate' or 'Cinnamon' (or any os you think would be ok for him) on it. Its not like he's gonna have to learn a new os.

cornemuse, Jun 16, 2019
    priscus likes this.
  4. priscus

priscus