Crazy Mouse Problem in SP3

Discussion in 'Windows XP Hardware' started by Qubus, Jan 20, 2016.

  1. Qubus

    Qubus

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello...I have what seems to be a unique problem with my mouse. I'm replacing an old one with a brand new one, but I can't get Windows XP SP3 to recognize it. To complicate matters, I was already having the problem of Windows recognizing the mouse only when it was plugged into one certain USB port. All the ports work fine for any other devices, but only that certain one would allow the mouse to work. When I plug the new one into that port, it acts like its installing and even gives me mouse activity for about a half second...and then it freezes and I get nothing. Control panel's mouse applet doesn't even show that any mouse is connected. I've tried every one of my eight backside ports and even my two frontside ports, to no avail. It's getting power, but it just isn't working. It works fine in Linux regardless of the port it's plugged into (I'm in Linux right now using that new mouse). So I'm dead in the water in Windows. I could keep using the old mouse, but it's pretty useless to me without a working wheel. This is driving me insane and I'm dangerously close to taking a sledgehammer to my computer. If anyone has even a vague inkling, I'd be very grateful. Thanks.
     
    Qubus, Jan 20, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Qubus

    eatup

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    21
    Does your pc have dedicated ps/2 ports for the mouse & keyboard? (Most still do). You could try a $1 USB to PS/2 adapter from ebay...
     
    eatup, Jan 20, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Qubus

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,805
    Likes Received:
    699
    Location:
    Florida
    eatup, pardon my interrupting, I came across this thread that might have a bearing on this issue:

     
    Elizabeth23, Jan 20, 2016
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.