Can't update AVG 2014

Discussion in 'Windows XP Security' started by SmilinDoug, Oct 14, 2019.

  1. SmilinDoug

    SmilinDoug

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adirondacks of New York
    Every time I try to update AVG 2014 I get a General Error. Is there a newer AVG I can download for this 32bit Windows XP Home?

    This is my desktop:

    Motherboard > ECS A78VM-M2 with onboard video > ATI Radeon 3100 Graphics

    BIOS Update > AMD 780V A13 07/10/2008

    CPU > AMD Sepron LE-1250 2.2Ghz

    Memory > 8GB's of DDR2 800MHz (PC2 6400)....but it only shows that I'm using 3.25GB's
     
    SmilinDoug, Oct 14, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. SmilinDoug

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,125
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Florida
    I am not sure if avg still supports xp
     
    Elizabeth23, Oct 14, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. SmilinDoug

    Dyehard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    16
    AVG worked, updated & upgraded on my XP Pro (32 bit) installation (IBM ThinkPad G40) at least until the HDD went south:( this spring.
     
    Dyehard, Oct 14, 2019
    #3
  4. SmilinDoug

    SmilinDoug

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adirondacks of New York
    I've got AVG 2014 installed and it's working. I just can't update it.

    On my laptop I had to install Panda since it's sooooo slow and almost no memory (RAM).
     
    SmilinDoug, Oct 14, 2019
    #4
  5. SmilinDoug

    Dyehard

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    16
    ... you must be flogging the last bytes out of an old P3.:eek:
    I've seen AVG work and update on more than a few "90 pound weakling" computers.
     
    Dyehard, Oct 14, 2019
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.