Can't Clear Read-Only Flag ??

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by Honduras 2811, Apr 19, 2014.

  1. Honduras 2811

    Honduras 2811

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cabool, Missouri, USA
    I've had this problem a few times before and I'm not sure what I did that fixed it.

    I'm trying to install Borland Turbo Prolog 2.0 on my system:
    4 Core AMD/ XP Pro SP3/ 2 x HDD

    But the install can't create the directories it needs to install to. So I created the directory structure myself.
    H:\TProlog20

    \Answers
    \Examples
    \Pie
    \Programs
    \Refexamp
    \BGI
    under that.

    And tried to install again. The install program can't write to the directories below TProlog20 because they are read-only. I created them from the DOS prompt, BTW. The only directory it can write to is TProlog20.

    I open properties on TProlog20 and it says Read-Only so I click that off and agree to do that to all sub-directories. Then I check the sub-directories and they are still Read-Only. So I turn off the read-only property for each sub-directory individually. As soon as the popup closes, I check it again, and it is still read-only. No matter where I put the directory frame, the sub-directories are read-only, and I can't change them. I've tried both HDDs a flashdisk and even a Zip drive.

    Does anyone know how I can fix this?

    Edit: I'm logged in as an administrator.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
    Honduras 2811, Apr 19, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Honduras 2811

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Apr 20, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Honduras 2811

    Honduras 2811

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cabool, Missouri, USA
    Yes. Many times. I've even written programs in Visual Basic and C to do it for me and then copy a file before it goes back to read-only. But I shouldn't have to do that.

    I weaseled my way through this particular problem by hanging all of the sub-directories off the root instead of TProlog20, and completely re-writing the batch file that does the installation. As soon as I cut and pasted the sub-directories under TProlog20 they turned into read-only again. No big deal maybe. I usually hang work directories off the root anyway.

    But I'm really curious about this problem. I did take your advice about Malabytes and Anti-Spyware. I was surprised. Malabytes found 161 problems on the first run. I did a scan with my anti-virus program before fixing them and it didn't find any problems, so I guess it's time for a change. Cleaning up all those problems didn't help the read-only problem, though.
     
    Honduras 2811, Apr 20, 2014
    #3
  4. Honduras 2811

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Florida
    http://stackoverflow.com/

    the forum above is where you should post your question, they are pretty good with batches and scripts. :)

    ===============

    one antivirus can not find everything, I always have an antivirus running in real time and also run MBAM as an on demand scanner.

    Plus every once in a while I run an online scan with ESET or Kaspersky.

    You can also make a rescue disk from Kaspersky, that you can run before booting,

    I do not know what your current antivirus is but you should insure that they are still supporting xp.
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 20, 2014
    #4
  5. Honduras 2811

    Honduras 2811

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cabool, Missouri, USA
    I think we need to get back to the original question. I've already taken care of the batch file, and installed the Comodo Anti-virus package on a trial basis.

    Can you think of any reason why the sub-directories of a root level directory would be read only when created, and why I can't change that flag?
     
    Honduras 2811, Apr 20, 2014
    #5
  6. Honduras 2811

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Florida
    that is why I sent you to stack overflow forum, I have no experience with changing attributes.

    Never needed to so, nor am I as technologically advanced as you appear to be. You can keep this thread open and maybe someone else will be able to help. Good Luck :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 20, 2014
    #6
  7. Honduras 2811

    Honduras 2811

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cabool, Missouri, USA
    Thanks. I'll keep looking. Surely I'm not the only one who has ever had this problem. :D
     
    Honduras 2811, Apr 20, 2014
    #7
  8. Honduras 2811

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Florida
    Okay, and if you find a solution, please post it for others looking with your same issue, thanks. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Apr 21, 2014
    #8
  9. Honduras 2811

    Honduras 2811

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cabool, Missouri, USA
    It turned out to be the freeware Anti-virus program I was using. So I susbscribed to a name brand anti-virus program and the problem went away.

    Since I can't send private messages yet, I'm just going to go ahead and add this here.

    Edit: In one of your posts you said that XP can only address a little more than 3 Gig of memory. Am I wasting resources by having 16 Gig installed?

    Suppose I replaced it with 2 x 2 Gig DIMMs and put the two 8 Gig DIMMs in another computer. Would this have any effect on performance? The other computer runs UBUNTU.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2014
    Honduras 2811, Apr 21, 2014
    #9
  10. Honduras 2811

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Florida
  11. Honduras 2811

    denrecnoc

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2014
    denrecnoc, Apr 21, 2014
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.