can't change monitor's 640 X 480 resolution

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by cq1954, Dec 1, 2013.

  1. cq1954

    cq1954

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using a Dell 3000 Dimension computer. Originally, I was using the hard drive from a custom computer whose motherboard fried that had an installation of XP and SP3. With that version of XP, I was able to change the resolution on my monitor. After that hard drive crashed, I started using the factory HD and the XP installation disks that came with it. That installation only has SP2. I am unable to change the resolution on the HP L1506 monitor. I cannot access the internet through this computer. I installed a driver that I copied from my Windows 7 computer but the resolution still won't change. The video card was able to display the higher resolutions when I was using the original HD so that doesn't seem to be the problem. I was told installing SP3 will fix the resolution problem but I can't go to Microsoft and download SP3. Any ideas what the problem is and how to fix it?
     
    cq1954, Dec 1, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cq1954

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    495
    Location:
    Florida
    it is because you do not have the latest video driver installed

    from a working pc with internet connections you will have to download the following to a flash drive

    (make sure to scan the drive with an antivirus and malware scan before unplugging from the working pc, and before plugging into the dimension 3000)

    Go to Microsoft download center and download:

    sp3, ie8, windows installer 4.5, here are some links:

    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=24
    sp3

    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/internet-explorer-8-details.aspx
    ie8

    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8483
    installer 4.5

    and these two are for after you get internet connections going:

    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=655

    an update for xp

    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=655

    above is the WGA for windows xp updates will not work on ungenuine windows.

    But actually the first thing you need to do is install the dell drivers for the dimension 3000

    you can get these drivers specific for your pc from dell drivers and downloads:

    http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/us/en/19/DriversHome/ShowProductSelector

    you will enter your service tag in the box provided (from any pc) press submit and will take you to a drivers page specific to your dell.

    this is the order for dell drivers to be installed:
    ORDER FOR DELL INSTALL DRIVERS

    Desktop System Software or Notebook System Software
    Chipset or SMBus driver
    Processor Driver (if applicable)
    Video
    Audio (sound)
    Input Drivers (keyboard/mouse)
    Modem
    Network Card

    for my dell dimension 3000

    the desktop is R121089

    the chipset is R106458

    sound is soundmax R94481

    if yours says to download other than soundmax I believe the others are outdated but try the ones for your pc first to see which ones they are.

    I have a discrete internet connection so this is not the network driver, most 3000's will be
    intel pro/100 or something else . most important are first the DSS and then the Chipset with restarts after each one, the rest can be installed after this.here are instructions from dell:

    http://www.dell.com/support/trouble...icles/ArticleView?c=us&l=en&s=bsd&docid=52182

    see part 3 for manual reinstallation and here is your owner's manual in pdf form:

    http://downloads.dell.com/Manuals/a...wner's manual_en-us.pdf?c=us&l=en&cs=04&s=bsd

    also pdf form.

    post back if additional instructions needed
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2013
    Elizabeth23, Dec 2, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. cq1954

    cq1954

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    640 X 480 resolution

    Thank you for your very detailed reply. To clarify one point - Are you saying I need Dell drivers and not HP drivers? I loaded SP39310 from the HP site for the monitor and installed it but without success.
     
    cq1954, Dec 3, 2013
    #3
  4. cq1954

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    495
    Location:
    Florida
    I read that you have a dell dimension 3000, and NO do not use dell drivers on a HP,you will have to go to HP for drivers, what is the make, model and model number of the HP?

    all the instructions are valid above except for the dell drivers, let me know the info and I will see if that driver is the correct one.
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 3, 2013
    #4
  5. cq1954

    cq1954

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help. I installed the driver from Dell and was able to change the resolution.
     
    cq1954, Dec 14, 2013
    #5
  6. cq1954

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    495
    Location:
    Florida
    thanks for the update, but are you saying you installed a dell driver on a HP pc??
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 15, 2013
    #6
  7. cq1954

    cq1954

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the Dell video driver on my Dell Dimension 3000 computer with the HP monitor. I installed the HP monitor driver on the computer previously.
     
    cq1954, Dec 21, 2013
    #7
  8. cq1954

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    495
    Location:
    Florida
    thanks for clarifying. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 22, 2013
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.