Can I save a new install of xp to install a different OS?

Discussion in 'Windows XP Installation and Setup' started by LuMax, Jun 29, 2014.

1. LuMax

LuMax

I'm not a tech. I purchased a used laptop on ebay with the intention of installing and trying Linux Mint. The laptop, however, is coming with a fresh install of xp pro (it's what I'm used to).
    Not being a tech, my question is, is there a way for me to copy xp just in case I want to reinstall it later in case I don't like Mint ?

LuMax, Jun 29, 2014
  2. LuMax

Jojo

Yes.

Use this: http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/macrium_reflect_free_edition.html

When you run it, it will present you with a line representation of your disk. Select Image This Disk. Not Clone.

You will need a sizable space to store the image, at least as large as the image itself. Preferably, a second drive, perhaps in the USB port.

When you need to reload it, the instructions are all there, generally, clicking on the image.

Jojo, Jun 29, 2014
  3. LuMax

Elizabeth23

from here

you can boot to the cd and leave your hard drive install as is

Elizabeth23, Jun 30, 2014
  4. LuMax

Jojo

With respect, I have to say, my own experiences with Linux have convinced me never to trust it.

It has reformatted drives, deleting not just the installed OS, XP in that case, but also deleting everything else.

My last Laptop had its BIOS rewritten, making it entirely unusable. Since it also destroyed access to the CD drive, and net access I couldn't repair the BIOS. That machine ended in the bin!

Yes I must have done something wrong. No, there is no-one who can say what that is.

Play about with Linux by all means, but now that it is almost impossible to activate a re-install of XP, I suggest you treat any installation like gold.

Jojo, Jun 30, 2014
  5. LuMax

Elizabeth23

@Jojo:

I have not used Linux, that was info I generated by googling the issue.