Anti-spyware choices for XP Pro?

Discussion in 'Windows XP Security' started by trimis, Nov 26, 2017.

  1. trimis

    trimis

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm looking at these right now:
    Spybot: Search & Destroy 2.4
    Superantispyware
    Others not specifically anti-spyware (but close enough):
    Malwarebytes Free
    Adwcleaner
    Junkware Removal Tool
    That's about all I could find for XP. Which ones do I need, or should I have something not listed?
     
    trimis, Nov 26, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. trimis

    priscus

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    11
    I use Superantispyware in ADDITION to Malwarebytes, as the former removes adware tracking cookies, and whilst they are usually considered not harmful, one site which I use regularly, unfortunately, downloads them by the thousands, and I do not want them consuming my bandwidth and BB data allowance.

    Also use spybot 'Antibeacon', but on W10 not XP.
     
    priscus, Nov 26, 2017
    #2
    trimis likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. trimis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Florida
    every now and again I run adwcleaner, version 6, and the junkware removal tool JRT, and then just my AV, (360TSE), and malwarebytes free.
     
    Elizabeth23, Nov 26, 2017
    #3
    trimis likes this.
  4. trimis

    trimis

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm not 100% sure but I think Bleachbit, FlushFlash, Cookienator, and Ad Muncher does this for me...at least I think the four are doing it. Not sure just how i would find out if they are missing any tracking cookies.
     
    trimis, Nov 28, 2017
    #4
  5. trimis

    trimis

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
    I decided to take your advice in the other thread, and installed Malwarebytes from your link. I had heard it was difficult to deal with, but not so for me. Full scan turned up three malwares (what it calls PUPs). Never did figure out how to see just exactly what they were, but did manage to quarantine and delete.

    Which Adwcleaner are you using...the one from 'Xplode' or the one from 'Malwarebytes'?
     
    trimis, Nov 29, 2017
    #5
  6. trimis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Florida
    when you ask for details there is on the bottom a place to click for a text file, see below: you would click on save results , that will give the full address of the item.
    [​IMG]


    https://filehippo.com/download_adwcleaner/74347/

    download from above, it is version 6 that I use, since the later ones do not work on xp.
     
    Elizabeth23, Nov 29, 2017
    #6
    trimis likes this.
  7. trimis

    trimis

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes I saw this, but it does not tell me anything useful, like the actual name of the malware...and I did click on the 'save results', and some popup said something about save to notepad. I clicked on it but nothing happened, and never did find 'notepad'. Anyway, the three are gone now. Guess if it turns out to be something I wanted I can always download again. I'll check out the link tomorrow; time for bed.
     
    trimis, Dec 1, 2017
    #7
  8. trimis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Florida
    NOTEPAD: when something says save to notepad, what that means is that the item that you want saved has been placed in clipboard (copy) and you can now paste into notepad. then you can save the report.
    if it is a PUP that is not malware that is a potentially unwanted program that according to their list is a bad program, if you decide to keep the program then just remove the check mark.

    how to get to notepad:

    start / all programs / accessories / notepad
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 1, 2017
    #8
    trimis likes this.
  9. trimis

    trimis

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have no idea whether that report actually got saved or not to notepad, but I try to see tomorrow.
     
    trimis, Dec 2, 2017
    #9
  10. trimis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Florida
    you have to save it to notepad, and/or in the c drive it might be there or on your desktop or in malwarebytes folder
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 2, 2017
    #10
  11. trimis

    Keegan Truitt

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
     
    Keegan Truitt, Dec 3, 2017
    #11
  12. trimis

    Keegan Truitt

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Am Setting Up An Old Windows XP Machine That Use To Be On A Domain I''m Thinking About Re-Installing Windows XP Then Reconnect To Domain Any Suggestions On Security?
     
    Keegan Truitt, Dec 3, 2017
    #12
  13. trimis

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Florida
    1. do not use IE
    2. install 360 total security by qihoo
    3. install malwarebytes free
    4. install firefox 52.4 ESR

    scan often and surf responsibly, not much else you can do. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Dec 3, 2017
    #13
  14. trimis

    trimis

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    5
    I would add a hardware firewall having NAT & SPI. An Edgerouter Lite if you can handle it, otherwise a Cisco I guess. I was careful not to let my PC anywhere near the internet until I had my Microtik firewall up and running. I would credit it with why I was able to download all the apps I did, with only three PUPs (which Malwarebytes quickly sent packing).
     
    trimis, Dec 3, 2017
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.