A good lightweight Virus scanner / Internet Security

Discussion in 'Windows XP Security' started by Roman78, Oct 5, 2016.

  1. Roman78

    Roman78

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello to everyone, just made an account here cause I had some questions.

    I still use XP on some computers, but I'm curious about AV-software. At this moment I use none, only brain.exe :D Also have Mbam installed, but that is only on demand scanning, and not actually a virus scanner.

    On older systems I stopped using Virus Scanners (like DOS, Windows 9x and W2k), but XP is still very common and still a risk getting some malicious software.

    And than there is a problem, some modern Anti Virus Software is still capable to run on XP, but under what performance costs. I tried some, and was shocked about the decrease of performance. When working on a single Core machine whit only 512mb installed, it could take ages to boot and after that working is almost impossible. Checking used memory reveals a usage of more than installed. So the machine is continuously swapping. But even on more powerful machines it's not doable.

    I run XP on a Pentium III-s 1400 512mb, Pentium M 745 1.8ghz 1.5 gb(laptop) and a Core2Duo 2.0Ghz 2gb. Mostly for games and older software.

    So does someone know a good software?
     
    Roman78, Oct 5, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Roman78

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Florida
    Elizabeth23, Oct 5, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Roman78

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    61
    I changed over to 360 total security. AVG turned computer into a total slug, , , ,
     
    cornemuse, Oct 6, 2016
    #3
  4. Roman78

    Roman78

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aha, that one i never heard of. First I thought that the 360 is from Norton/Symantec, but this is a different one.

    I'll give it a try, also de difference between the essentials and the normal edition could be interesting.
     
    Roman78, Oct 7, 2016
    #4
  5. Roman78

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Florida
    @Roman78, I use essentials because I do not want 360 updating my programs and checking my system and whatever else it does, :)

    I do that myself, but its a great realtime antivirus, as long as you use both the bitdefender and the avira engines, and I use Malwarebytes free as an on demand scanner. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Oct 7, 2016
    #5
  6. Roman78

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    61
    cornemuse, Oct 8, 2016
    #6
  7. Roman78

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Florida
    @cornemuse, interesting article, just did not have a column for OS. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Oct 8, 2016
    #7
  8. Roman78

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    61
    360 wont work with xp 64 bit. I have avast for that. I have 360 on my tosh laptop with W-7. I like the way 360 manages the various upgrades, on another (7) forum, most posts seem to be about problems with u/g;s, and bILL satan gATES notorious blue screen o' death.

    -c-
     
    cornemuse, Oct 9, 2016
    #8
  9. Roman78

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Florida
    from here

    I have 32 bit so I cannot test this. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Oct 9, 2016
    #9
  10. Roman78

    Frattulman

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    A good manual scanner is WinClam. (but has active no shield. Not quite fully useful)
     
    Frattulman, Oct 9, 2016
    #10
  11. Roman78

    Roman78

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Frattulman I also tested WinClam, I like it, because it's small an does not interfere operating, but when I started a scan it's also consuming more that the installed 512 Meg. Need at least 1 Gb.
     
    Roman78, Oct 10, 2016
    #11
  12. Roman78

    Roman78

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I installed 360 Total Security Essentials on a virtual XP test machine whit 512mb of ram.

    First impression: Looks nice, Memory usage: 3 processes whit a total of 68.888 MB used. Wile scanning it goes up to 130-140 MB. Still good performance. Total memory used (including Windows of course) is about 260-270MB wile scanning and about 170 when not . But this is only a small scan.

    Cons: Not usable at 800x600, need at least 900 pixels width.

    But something I don't understand at this point is, on the main program window I could enable Bitdefender and/or Avira, why is that for?
     
    Roman78, Oct 10, 2016
    #12
  13. Roman78

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Florida
    @Roman78: read through the following, it is a choice to use all engines (increased memory usage) and to choose the protection mode desired, I have 2gb of ram so I use all engines. :)

    https://malwaretips.com/threads/avira-bitdefender-disabled.57236/
    https://malwaretips.com/threads/wha...you-recommend-if-could-only-choose-one.56217/
    https://malwaretips.com/threads/do-not-have-to-enable-the-avira-engine.56149/
    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2422024,00.asp

    there are lots of reviews at below search page if you wish to research more:

    https://www.google.com/search?biw=1...ved=0ahUKEwjCiJK6sdDPAhXDez4KHdzEBdsQvwUIGygA
     
    Elizabeth23, Oct 10, 2016
    #13
  14. Roman78

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    61
    When I attempted to install 360 on xp-64, I got a message 'does not support this os'(words to that effect)
     
    cornemuse, Oct 10, 2016
    #14
  15. Roman78

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Florida
    shall I try to research it further??
     
    Elizabeth23, Oct 10, 2016
    #15
  16. Roman78

    cornemuse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    61
    Not for me, , , ,
     
    cornemuse, Oct 11, 2016
    #16
  17. Roman78

    Elizabeth23

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,869
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Florida
    okey dokey, cornemuse. :)
     
    Elizabeth23, Oct 11, 2016
    #17
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.