How in danger of malware etc am I?

Discussion in 'Windows XP General Discussion' started by violinmike, Apr 14, 2014.

1. violinmike

violinmike

I'm a minor user of computers. As a musician I have a lot of mp3's like to post on
    twitter check my email and go to ahem adult sites sometimes. Its really a hobby
    computer.
    I was a victim a couple of weeks ago of secure guard scareware that locked up my computer wanted 100$ and wouldn't let me go anywhere telling me the computer is infected.
    this was not detected on my computer.
    My twitter was highjacked and I changed the passwords on everything. after sending infected links to everyone.
    So I took it to my computer guy as I'm not tech enough to deal with it to get it off.
    So here's my question
    I bought Macafee have it constantly scanning. I have this thing that green lights amber lights and warns of bad sites.
    I'm low income. I'll upgrade sometime to another used computer.
    I like Xp But am I safe enough? Its a pain to take the music and everything migrated off
    computer.
    I don't understand why if over 20% of the market -someone isn't going to support it for
    us on a subscription basis for whatever patches it might need.
    I mean people still repair VW Bugs.
    I'm suspicious of the internet info that suggest the sky is about to fall on us
    and we are irresponsible for wanting to keep using this.
    Thanks
    Mike

violinmike, Apr 14, 2014
  2. violinmike

violinmike

I also updated all the drivers and got the last Microbastard updates.

violinmike, Apr 14, 2014
  3. violinmike

Elizabeth23

First I do not know how long McAfee is going to support xp, nor is mcafee considered very compatible with windows.

you need a good antivirus running in real time

on demand scanner for malware and spyware

adblocker

stop using internet explorer use firefox or chrome

most adult sites will have malware, just do not click on anything as this is what gets onto your pc.