XP on VirtualBox requires a 16 mb video card, how to I fix this error?

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by NeptuneXPlorer, Jul 3, 2023.

1. NeptuneXPlorer

NeptuneXPlorer

I have had this problem with running Windows XP Professional x86 Service Pack 3 in Virtualbox on both macOS and Windows 10. In an attempt to relive my childhood days of constantly changing the wallpaper and screensaver settings, I downloaded Microsoft Plus! for Windows XP. Everytime I click "install" for Plus! Screen Savers or Themes, the following warning appears:

> The feature cannot be installed because your computer does not contain a video card with at least 16 megabytes of memory Verify that your computer meets the minimum system requirements for Microsoft Plus! for Windows XP.

I am a novice VirtualBox user, and I can only see the display of the VM using the VMSVGA graphics controller with 32 mb of video storage. Is there a way to fix this issue?

NeptuneXPlorer, Jul 3, 2023
  2. NeptuneXPlorer

MisterEd

I got the same thing when I tried to install Microsoft Plus! for Windows XP.

[​IMG]

I saw the reason why when I looked at the Device Manager.
    Under Other devices it said Video Controller (VGA Compatible).

[​IMG]

The solution is to select the ISO for the VirtualBox Guest Additions and install it. Ignore the errors.

[​IMG]

After that the Display adapter will be VirtualBox Graphics Adapter.

[​IMG]

Microsoft Plus! for Windows XP will then install OK.

[​IMG]

MisterEd, Jul 3, 2023
  3. NeptuneXPlorer

ClippyBeer

You will encounter the same issue in VMWare running an XP VM - you will only get basic graphics unless you install the guest additions.

ClippyBeer, Jul 4, 2023
  4. NeptuneXPlorer

NeptuneXPlorer

So I had the Guest Additions installed, but it won't let me install Direct3D Support as it requires 3D acceleration (which VirtualBox won't let me enable). Thank you so much, now I know that this is a host problem.

NeptuneXPlorer, Jul 4, 2023