Need to upgrade pc but want to keep XP Pro

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by DarryljustDarryl, Sep 17, 2023.

1. DarryljustDarryl

DarryljustDarryl

SO.. I'm new here.. Hello everyone and thanks for having me. I will get right to it. I am a die hard XP Pro person out of necessity. I run an old version of solidworks (2007) and use it a lot. The newer versions are very expensive . I have a very old lap top ( Dell Inspirion 1300) that I run a legit XP OS but it is starting to give me problems and I'm afraid that its going to crash on me soon.
    PROBLEM: can I purchase a newer PC with windows 10 on it and install my XP on it. I don't ever have this laptop on the internet and the only thing I use it for is for running Solidworks. Thanks in advance... DD

DarryljustDarryl, Sep 17, 2023
  2. DarryljustDarryl

Borg

Forget it. The only chance is to get some good used laptop that will have drivers for XP.
    Anything new will not work.

I personally have old DELL E5420 laptop and it works fine. Win2003 there :)

Maybe there is more luck with used desktops.

Borg, Sep 17, 2023
    DarryljustDarryl likes this.
  3. DarryljustDarryl

DarryljustDarryl

Thank you Borg, That's about where I'm at as well. I've seen a number of refurbished XP machines out there so off I go.. Cheers

4. DarryljustDarryl

DarryljustDarryl

I have a HP touch smart all in 1 that came out with Vista. Any Idea if that's compatible with XP ?

5. DarryljustDarryl

Borg

Just go to HP support page and try to download drivers for WinXP.
    If you will get all of them (Audio, Gfx, Chipset, NIC) then there is pretty good chance it will work.

Borg, Sep 18, 2023
  6. DarryljustDarryl

Madeleine Takam

Alternatively =

https://gozofinder.com/cse/ulozto/en?query=solidworks+2016

I must admit I love AutoCad 2004 for its speed and simplicity, then I had to bite the bullet and go for 2012…and then again.

I always liked Revit 2013 and then I had to bite the bullet….